Indulkana, APY Lands, South Australia
Blues | Country | Reggae | Rock
About Iwantja

Iwantja's band members are: Jeremy Whiskey (Guitars, keys and vocals), Jacob Baker (drums), Steven Brumby (bass guitar), Grant Cooley (lead and rhythm guitar), Stewart Gaykamangu (vocals and keyboard) and Angus Pearson.

Stewart is a first cousin of Gurrumul, has a similar sounding voice and wrote many songs with him.

They sing in Pitjantjatjara, Yankunytjatjara and English.

Band photograph of Iwantja.


Album formats explained

Album formats

  • 10": 10 inch vinyl records were played at 45 or 33 1/3 rounds per minute (rpm). The former could hold 9, the latter 12 minutes of music per side.
  • 7": 7 inch records (often referred to as 45s) were played at 45 rpm or 33 1/3 rpm, with about 4:30 or 6 minutes of music per side.
  • LP: Long play, is a vinyl record played at ​33 1⁄3 rpm with a 12 or 10-inch diameter.
  • EP: Extended play, are vinyl records that allowed two or even three songs on each side.


9 September 2011
  1. Iwantja Groove
  2. Kungka Nyuntu (You are my girl)
  3. Wangka Wiya
  4. Tjitji Kulunypa (The little girl is crying)
  5. Wamanguru (Grog)
  6. Maralinga
  7. Kungka Paluru (That girl)
  8. Move Ya Body
  9. Pukulpa
  10. Tjamunya Tjana
  11. Gonna Party
  12. Wanatjaku

Find Iwantja albums & CDs

Disclosure: I get commissions for purchases made through any album links.

Go exploring!

Use the Aboriginal music timeline to view albums over time.

Cite this page

Korff, J 2019, Iwantja, <>, retrieved 20 July 2024

Creative Spirits is a starting point for everyone to learn about Aboriginal culture. Please use primary sources for academic work.

Join thousands of Smart Owls who know more!