No Fixed Address

North Adelaide, South Australia
Reggae | Rock
About No

Lead singer: Bart Willoughby, rhythm guitarist and songwriter: Ricky Harrison, lead guitarist: Leslie Lovegrove Freeman (also known as Les Graham and Les Lovegrove), bass player: John Miller.

No Fixed Address formed in 1978 (but broke up in 1988) and were one of the first Aboriginal bands to be recorded.

No Fixed Address made the movie Wrong Side of the Road with another band, Us Mob. Following the release of the movie and its soundtrack album, No Fixed Address toured widely, achieving cult status in Australia and being the first Aboriginal band to get on the international circuit, paving the way for other iconic Indigenous bands such as Warumpi Band and Yothu Yindi.

We had about 60 songs in our set and we only ever recorded nine of them for an EP we released with Mushroom Records.

— Ricky Harrison, No Fixed Address

Thirty years ago we were singing about Aboriginal rights and the sad thing is that the message is still the same and it's still relevant.

— Bart Willoughby, No Fixed Address

Band member history:

  • Joe Geia (v,perc,didg) 1982-1983
  • Les Graham (g) 1979-1983
  • Ricky Harrison (g) 1979-198?
  • Joe Hayes (b) 1982
  • Billy Inda (perc,didg) 1982
  • Chris Jones (g) 1982-1985
  • Les Lovegrove (g) 1987
  • Rick Lovegrove (g) 1987
  • Louis McManus (g) 1984-1985
  • John Miller (b) 1979-198?,1987
  • Nicky Moffott (b) 1983-1985
  • Veronica Rankine (v,sax,fl) 1979-198?
  • Bart Willoughby (d,v,didg) 1979-1985,1987

Thanks to Flick Parham for helping me update this page about No Fixed Address.


Album formats explained

Album formats

  • 10": 10 inch vinyl records were played at 45 or 33 1/3 rounds per minute (rpm). The former could hold 9, the latter 12 minutes of music per side.
  • 7": 7 inch records (often referred to as 45s) were played at 45 rpm or 33 1/3 rpm, with about 4:30 or 6 minutes of music per side.
  • LP: Long play, is a vinyl record played at ​33 1⁄3 rpm with a 12 or 10-inch diameter.
  • EP: Extended play, are vinyl records that allowed two or even three songs on each side.

From My Eyes

  1. We have survived
  2. From my eyes
  3. Stupid system
  4. I can't stand and look
  5. Sunrise
  6. Pigs
  7. 40,000 years
  8. Greenhouse holiday
  9. Stand up

In 2008 No Fixed Address played on The Dreaming Festival (Woodford, QLD, one hour north of Brisbane) where they distributed a special edition of this CD.

Anything but Nothing

15 August 2009
  1. The Conflict
  2. Two Deadly Sins
  3. Getting Through
  4. Permanent Scar
  5. Better Days
  6. Never Far
  7. My Life
  8. Wake Me
  9. Restart
  10. Morsels
  11. Stuck

Band from the Radio

1 August 2012
  1. Things Change
  2. Losers
  3. Slipping Away
  4. Passawine
  5. Tambourine
  6. Quiet Room
  7. Wasting Time
  8. The Fallout
  9. Burn
  10. Explicit
  11. Don't Follow


1 April 2015
  1. The Other Me
  2. Try
  3. Fragile
  4. Lizard Man
  5. Unearthed
  6. Falling Fast
  7. Sleepless
  8. Legacy
  9. Ninja Pig
  10. Enter Unknown

Find No Fixed Address albums & CDs

Disclosure: I get commissions for purchases made through any album links.

Go exploring!

Use the Aboriginal music timeline to view albums over time.

Cite this page

Korff, J 2020, No Fixed Address, <>, retrieved 20 July 2024

Creative Spirits is a starting point for everyone to learn about Aboriginal culture. Please use primary sources for academic work.

Join thousands of Smart Owls who know more!